US Embassy Perth WA, Australia Reviews 2022

Looking to get your US Visa at the US Consulate Perth WA, Australia?

Below you will find reviews from others who have, including turnaround times, and appointment wait times.

If you’re looking for more information about the types of visa available and other locations, visit my Immigration section and you can read everything from a step-by-step guide to the E3 visa through to introductions to the best immigration lawyers available.

If you have any questions, please don’t hesitate to comment below or email immigration@americajosh.com – I love getting your questions!

If you’ve recently gone through a visa process (good or bad), I’d love to hear about it so I can help people in the future!

Perth WA, Australia

4.74

2.29 days

1 day

38 reviews

4

 E-3 Renewal
1 Day
E3 Renewal - Perth - in Monday 8:30am, returned Tuesday noon. Did give us a bit of a grilling on our questions but the turn around has to be one of the fastest I’ve ever heard of (literally less than a day)
- Michael (about 4 years ago)

5

 E-3 New
3 Days
Great. Quick and easy. Passport posted back to Sydney quickly. Approved on the spot after two basic questions. Was denied with the same paperwork in Barbados one week earlier
- Ed (about 6 years ago)

5

 E-3 New
2 Days
All round I’m so happy I went to Perth! However, I had free flights I needed to use and a hotel voucher…so keep in mind it can be super expensive if you’re from out of state. If you have enough time to go to Melbourne, they were great with my B1/B2.
- Georgia (about 4 years ago)

4

 E-3 New
6 Days
Be sure to check your passport photo - even if it's approved by the online checker, they may ask for a new one (mine was 1+ years old and they wanted another). Also if you need a quick turnaround you should opt to pick up the passport. I didn't even wait for the email to say it's ready, I just called the location (Pack & Send on St Georges Tce) and asked if my passport was there. Turns out it was!
- Catherine (about 4 years ago)

5

 E-3 New
1 Day

- Janelle (about 3 years ago)

5

 E-3 New
3 Days
Interview was Tuesday morning, received the passport in Sydney 3pm Friday. Questions were very simple. What’s your job title? What did you study at uni? (Degrees + majors) What is the name of the company? Where is their office (NYC was sufficient) What does the company do? Approved on the spot. Whole process at the consulate took about 2 hours. They had lockers for my valuables could have brought my laptop or headphones without an issue.
- Bryce (about 3 years ago)

4

 E-3 New
2 Days
Asked for a new passport photo. Was interviewed 2 hours after my interview appointment scheduled time. My interview time was 9am, received my passport back 36 hours later in Sydney. Asked for the D-160, LCA, Resume, Letter of Support and Payment Receipt. Asked what the role is, location, what the company does, qualifications and how I got the job.
- Chloe (about 3 years ago)

5

 E-3 New
1 Day
Super quick. One other person there
- Simon (about 4 years ago)

5

 E-3 New
1 Day
Very smooth process. My appointment was at 9am and was out the door by 9.20. My passport with the approved visa arrived at my house in Brisbane the following day!
- Carol (about 3 years ago)

5

 E-3 New
3 Days
Very polite staff. Whole process took 2 hours, mostly waiting. Actual interview was 3 mins, some simple questions. Could only take in papers relevant to the Visa (weren't allowed books or anything else even though they were non-electronic).
- JMc (about 3 years ago)

4

 E-3 Renewal
2 Days
Guy who interviewed me asked quite a few questions including what do you do, what degree did you do and is it relevant to your work, what does your company do, is this your first visa, who are you traveling with....all really easy to answer but more scrutiny then other locations. Overall, would recommend as appointments wait times were low and got my passport back within 2 days (sent to Melbourne). Stayed at the Duxton hotel which was right across road from office so super convenient.
- Kat (about 3 years ago)

5

 E-3 New
2 Days
We had our interview for new E3 and E3-D in Perth. We were notified we were approved after a few questions about the role and employer and received passports back two days later.
- (about 3 years ago)

5

 E-3 New
2 Days
Have all the correct information and the process is easy and straightforward
- Nicole (about 3 years ago)

5

 E-3 New
2 Days
Three questions: (1) What was your degree (2) What does your company do (3) What is your role
- Melissa (about 3 years ago)

5

 E-3 Renewal
2 Days
Very efficient and quick return of passport
- Sarah (about 3 years ago)

5

 E-3 New
1 Day
Very quick process, short lead time for the appointment, 12 days. Arrived at 8;40am for a 9am appointment, was out of there at 9.05am. Got asked quite a few questions, How I got the job? What my role was? A bit about the company, also asked a little about my degree equivalency. But it was very quick and a successful e3. Highly recommend. Passport was back less than 30 hours after the interview.
- Megan (about 3 years ago)

5

 E-3 Renewal
5 Days
Fast and efficient. Was in and out from embassy within 25 mins. So much better than my past experiences in Melb where it took 2-3 hours!
- Jane (about 3 years ago)

5

 E-3 Renewal
2 Days
I arrived at 8am for an 8.20am appointment (first of the day). I was first in line. The security staff were friendly and welcoming. The process consisted of two parts once through the security check: 1. The first window asked for my LCA, DS-160, Job Continuation Letter and a COPY of my Degree. After scanning in the DS-160 she asked if I had a better photo with me as mine was dark (I did. It's always good to have a proper passport photo just in case to save the hassle of having to leave the building and come back). 2. The Consulate Officer called me up to the window. The questions he asked me were: a) What does the company do? b) Describe what your role is? c) What is your degree in? d) What was the name of the University you studied at? e) Is this the same company you worked at on your previous E3? APPROVED!
- Rob (about 3 years ago)

5

 E-3 New
1 Day
Very small but very chill consulate. Everyone was lovely. I arrived at 9:15am for a 10:00am appointment and they just let me in and took me up. It was about 30-45 mins, most of which was waiting. I couldn’t bring a book but they had magazines and everything. The guy asked me a few questions about my job, my degree, etc and then gave me the approved slip. My fam is in Sydney and I took a 4:25pm flight the next day home to find my visa and passport had beaten me home and was waiting for me on my bed in Sydney.
- Ella (about 3 years ago)

5

 E-3 New
1 Day
Booked my appointment on 1 October and attended on 9 October. Arrived 15 minutes early for my appointment at 8:40am and waited for approximately 10 minutes. The interview itself lasted less than 5 minutes. I was asked for my DS-160, Labor Condition Application, supporting letter from my employer, and a (scanned) copy of my university degree. Extremely easy and efficient process, staff and security were very friendly. I received my passport by courier (Toll) at my home address in Perth at 10:30am the next day! Couldn't recommend the Perth consulate highly enough.
- Matt (about 34 years ago)

5

 E-3 New
1 Day
Could have been a better experience. Was asked a couple of questions very casually "what did I study, where did I study and tell me about the role" then it was approved. It was like they'd already decided they were going to approve it before I even answered! 🙂 All done, in and out in under 15 minutes. Passport arrived back in Melbourne 24 hours later.
- Sophie (about 3 years ago)

5

 E-3 New
4 Days
I had a 8:45am appointment, I arrived 8:30am. You do security screen on one level, then they take you up to another level. Only 3 people in front of me. First time I was called up a friendly guy took all my paperwork. Didn't want original degree, just a copy, as wanted passport, job offer letter, LCA, DS160 Receipt and visa payment receipt. We had a chat about music (as thats my degree). Sat back down, and a different guy examined my docs, called me up to a window and asked 4 questions. 1. Is this a new visa or renewal. 2. What does the company do. 3. how did I get the job. 4. Where did I do my degree (what city/college). He was typing away throughout all this. Then he unceremoniously said "approved" handed me a piece of paper and that was it! Whole "interview" took about 3 mins. I was way more prepared and had all sorts of supporting documentation with me. That was on Thursday morning, I had my passport back in Sydney by 11am Monday morning. My passport did not show up on the tracking system till Sunday evening which had me worried, but there must be a delay in the system.
- Tom (about 3 years ago)

5

 E-3 New
1 Day
Perth is a great option if the wait times in Sydney or Melbourne are long and your employer will pay to fly you over there to expedite your start date. My appointment was at 9am. I got there 15 mins before as instructed and they took me right through. The appointment was finished by 9am!! Read the other perth reviews for more about the questions asked and what you can/can’t bring to the consulate. My suggestion, if you’re not from perth, would be to stay at all suites studio apartments which are two minutes walk from the consulate as you’re travelling to the consulate without your phone for directions. Once I completed the visa process, I got on a plane the same day as my appointment at 10.3pm and arrived home to Brisbane at 6am the following day. My passport then arrived at 9am that day and although I was home I was sound asleep as I didn’t expect it to arrive the next day!! My passport was taken to the toll depot. I had to call toll (don’t follow their online instructions as I did that at first and then called to double check and nothing had been lodged from the online form) and then I confirmed that i would pick up the next day. They sent me a text message the following morning letting me know it was ready for pick up and then I had to drive to the toll depot at Brisbane airport the following day which wasn’t a huge hassle as my house is only 25 mins away. However, I’d just be aware that perth turnaround can be as fast as one day even if the consulate workers tell you 3-5 business days.
- Michelle (about 3 years ago)

5

 E-3 New
1 Day
Extremely fast process. I was in and out in 5 minutes. They asked me 'what the company does', 'what my degree is' and 'where I studied'. He approved it instantly and the passport arrived less than 24 hours later at my door.
- Rory (about 3 years ago)

4

 E-3 New
4 Days
Even though the website says the consulate doesn't open until 8.30am, you can come earlier to line up in the security line.
- Karen (about 3 years ago)

5

 E-3 New
2 Days
I booked my appointment a week out. Appointment was on a Thursday at 8:40am, I got there around 8:15am and was let straight through - everyone at the consulate was lovely and cheery. I was asked to hand over my DS-160 confirmation, LCA (which I realised later was actually a copy), graduation certificates (copy), letter of offer/support and passport. Officer asked me where I studied, what I studied, how my role related to my degree and then asked me briefly about my previous visa (O-1). He told me I had been approved, I walked out of the door at 8:40am and my passport was delivered to me in Melbourne on Monday at 4pm.
- Emma (about 3 years ago)

5

 E-3 Renewal
1 Day
~10am appointment, served straight away, was out within 10 minutes and had my passport in my hand the next morning
- Kev (about 3 years ago)

5

 E-3 New
2 Days
Fastest turnaround I'd ever experienced. I've done about half a dozen e3's and this was the quickest. No problem with security, guy asked me "how would you describe your job to a 3yr old", checked my lca, asked me where I went to college, and then approved me. I flew home to Sydney that day, and the following day got my passport at 4pm. Definitely recommend.
- Tim (about 3 years ago)

5

 E-3 New
1 Day
Arrived at 8.30am for a 9am appointment and got let through right away. Waiting time was about 15 minutes as others in front of me and issues with their documents. Documents asked LCA, 160, offer letter, transcript. Questions asked were 1)which uni did you go to? 2)what did you study. Visa was approved right after. Received passport next day at 11am! To note: make sure you have every single page of your LCA with you - dude ahead of me missed out a page and didn't have his visa approved. another note - a new E3 applicant was denied even though he had a great offer from Google because the officer couldn't determine his intentions to live Australia.
- Padma (about 2 years ago)

5

 E-3 New
2 Days
Perth was the best location I've been to so far for a visa application. I've also been to Barbados and Paris, both of those experiences were simple and quick but their consulates were much less friendly. I was in and out of the Perth consulate in an hour, having several chats with the staff on the way. My appointment was at 10:40, but tried to go at around 9:30 and was allowed in early. I received my passport Friday morning, 2 business days after my appointment (Wed).
- Kylie (about 2 years ago)

5

 E-3 New
3 Days

- D (about 2 years ago)

4

 E-3 New
7+ Days
Consulate gave me the option to return the next day and collect my passport. I opted for the postal option. 7 business days was therefore due to Australia Post, not consulate. Two simple questions about what I do for a living and where I went to get my degrees. In and out within 20 mins.
- Claire (about 2 years ago)

5

 E-3 Renewal
2 Days

- Brooke (about 2 years ago)

5

 E-3 New
3 Days
Interview went for 2 minutes. Questions asked: company name, what they do, what I’ll be doing there. Biggest delay was with the postage. Perth staff were super friendly.
- Alex (about 2 years ago)

5

 J-1 New
3 Days
My appointment was at 8:30am, got there just after 8am and was asked to wait until 8:20. They came outside to the hallway and grabbed me at 8:25, went through security (who are super lovely), they took my phone and popped it into a locker for me, took me and two others up the lift to another floor for the actual interview. The first guy asked me for my plastic express post envelope (another lady was sent away to go get one as she only had a paper one, she also was asked for her photos but they were over 12 months old so she was sent to get new photos also - I wasn't asked for my photos, but had them just incase. I was also very prepared with a folder and everything tagged and ready), my ds 2019 and my fee receipt. I was asked to sit back down and wait for the interview. Called back up after 1 min and asked: you're going over for work and travel? [yup] have you locked in a job yet [nope], you've been there before and had no issues right [yup], did you read the info email we sent? [the one about human trafficking, yup]. That was it! They are professional but super lovely people
- A (about 1 year ago)

5

 E-3 New
4 Days
Very smooth process - In and out in less than 30 minutes. Got called to the first window for officer to fingerprint and collect the certified LCA, DS-160, job offer letter and Auspost satchel. Then called to the next window for visa interview: 1. Have you applied for the E3 visa before? (No) 2. Have you worked for this company before (No) 3. When did you become an AU citizen (18 months ago) 4. Have you worked in this type of a job before (Yes) Thank you, your visa is approved. Interview on Monday morning, passport received back on Thursday morning.
- Nik (about 1 year ago)

1

 E-2 New
1 Day

- (about 4 years ago)

5

 E-3 New
2 Days
it's obviously hard to get here at the moment, but after the expense and stress of flight caps, hotel quarantine, state border closures etc, the perth consulate experience was almost worth the several years of life that I lost getting this damn visa (second e3, new employer). the staff are friendly and professional. interview was simple, no interrogation tactics. have your documents in order and you'll be fine. offer letter, LCA, degree, fee confirmation, express post envelope, that's all I was asked for - although worth noting that my degree and occupation align pretty clearly.
- (about 11 months ago)