US Embassy London, UK Reviews 2022

Looking to get your US Visa at the US Embassy London, UK?

Below you will find reviews from others who have, including turnaround times, and appointment wait times.

If you’re looking for more information about the types of visa available and other locations, visit my Immigration section and you can read everything from a step-by-step guide to the E3 visa through to introductions to the best immigration lawyers available.

If you have any questions, please don’t hesitate to comment below or email immigration@americajosh.com – I love getting your questions!

If you’ve recently gone through a visa process (good or bad), I’d love to hear about it so I can help people in the future!

London, UK

4.89

3.33 days

32 days

9 reviews

5

 E-3 New
3 Days
Appointment booked on 18th of March 2022
- Tracy (about 8 months ago)

5

 E-3 Renewal
2 Days
Made the appointment about 2 months out, and was able to reschedule for an earlier appointment fairly quickly and easily.
- Eli (about 6 months ago)

4

 E-3 Renewal
4 Days

- Gabrielle (about 4 months ago)

5

 E-3 New
3 Days
Super efficient. Much better than the process back in Aus. Booked the appointment about 3 weeks before the day of and actual interview lasted about 45 seconds. Highly recommended!
- Dan (about 7 months ago)

5

 E-3 New
2 Days
Appointment was a 15th (Thursday). Updated online as Issued 17th (Saturday), 19th public holiday (Monday). Will pick up 20th (Tuesday). 2/3 working days
- Em (about 3 months ago)

5

 E-3 Renewal
3 Days
Quick efficient friendly embassy staff queues managed well, passports returned in 3 days
- Emily (about 2 months ago)

5

 E-3 New
4 Days
Bring an umbrella! Sometimes the line outside while you wait for security screening can take time, and there's no shelter!
- Melissa (about 11 months ago)

5

 H-1B New
2 Days
Wanted to share my London visa experience as I know I always rely on this group for the most up to date information and would love to pay it forward! Had my H1B appointment Monday morning 8:30AM - arrived around 8:15AM and the line was already very long (you just get in the back irrespective of appointment time), but moved pretty quickly through security. No laptops but you’re allowed to keep your phone with you (and they even have free wifi!). By the time I got in, the downstairs reception asked for anyone with 8AM or 8:30AM appointments to come through to the front and we were prioritised ahead of those with later appointment times. Once you get upstairs it’s a super efficient process, lots of booths processing and an abundance of automated ticketing to counter prompts on screens. First time you go to the window is for someone to check your documents, then you wait again and are called up to a different window for the interview. I was switching from an E3 to an H1B but my lawyers had already filed the petition so the interview lasted all of 2 minutes (have you had an H1B before + what do you do). Then I was asked to pay the reciprocity fee at a separate cashier window ($1,295) before going back to the same officer. Ended up leaving the embassy at ~9:30/9:40 so was about a 90min process from arrival. Received an email on Tuesday evening (5:30PM GMT) that my passport had been sent out (earlier that day my lawyers confirmed that the status on the portal had changed to “Issued”). Based on what I had read previously, I went to pick my passport up from the DX location on Wednesday (note: even though the tracking will say “out for delivery”, because the destination I chose was the default to the courier shop, there’s really nowhere for it to actually deliver to so it’s already there). The guys at DX seem well versed and knew exactly what the tracking was for etc. Make sure to bring another form of ID - the website has a list of what is acceptable but a drivers license is probably easiest. Overall the entire process took just over 48 hours from time of appointment to when I picked my passport back up from the courier location in Holborn! Super efficient and highly recommend London as a visa location!!
- Gracie (about 1 month ago)

5

 E-3 Renewal
7+ Days
- Booking the appointment was quite easy with lots of availability, I booked only a month out but could have booked within the week. - Arrived 35 mins (advised to arrive 30 mins prior) prior to the appointment (10am appt). Very long line which took upward of 90 minutes to get through. It is outside so definitely take a jacket and an umbrella. - First checkpoint is a DS-160 and passport check, second is security and third is a DS-160 scan and assigning you a number before proceeding up to level 1 (You can't take a laptop or tablet but you don't have to check your backpack or small bag in, you keep it with you as well as your phone which is handy whilst in waiting room) - Level 1 is a waiting room with visa interview windows where your number will appear on a scrolling screen advising which window to go to. - First interview was just a document check and all they wanted were my passport, certified LCA, photo and a support letter addressed to the embassy (if you don't have a photo, they have a photo booth on this level as well); Second interview was very basic asking: "What does your company do? What is your job title?" Scan fingerprints and told visa approved. This inside process took about another 90 minutes so total time was 3 hours. - Only hiccup in the interview was I had selected E3 not E3R but the lady just adjusted that on the spot, not sure if its always that easy. - Passport status changed to issued exactly 7 days after the interview, and available for collection 9 days after (24th November) from the courier company.
- Scott (about 15 days ago)