London, UK

4.62

4 days

15 days

39 reviews

5

 E-3 New
3 Days
Appointment booked on 18th of March 2022
- Tracy (about 2 years ago)

5

 E-3 Renewal
2 Days
Made the appointment about 2 months out, and was able to reschedule for an earlier appointment fairly quickly and easily.
- Eli (about 2 years ago)

4

 E-3 Renewal
4 Days

- Gabrielle (about 2 years ago)

5

 E-3 New
3 Days
Super efficient. Much better than the process back in Aus. Booked the appointment about 3 weeks before the day of and actual interview lasted about 45 seconds. Highly recommended!
- Dan (about 2 years ago)

5

 E-3 New
2 Days
Appointment was a 15th (Thursday). Updated online as Issued 17th (Saturday), 19th public holiday (Monday). Will pick up 20th (Tuesday). 2/3 working days
- Em (about 2 years ago)

5

 E-3 Renewal
3 Days
Quick efficient friendly embassy staff queues managed well, passports returned in 3 days
- Emily (about 2 years ago)

5

 E-3 New
4 Days
Bring an umbrella! Sometimes the line outside while you wait for security screening can take time, and there's no shelter!
- Melissa (about 3 years ago)

5

 H-1B New
2 Days
Wanted to share my London visa experience as I know I always rely on this group for the most up to date information and would love to pay it forward! Had my H1B appointment Monday morning 8:30AM - arrived around 8:15AM and the line was already very long (you just get in the back irrespective of appointment time), but moved pretty quickly through security. No laptops but you’re allowed to keep your phone with you (and they even have free wifi!). By the time I got in, the downstairs reception asked for anyone with 8AM or 8:30AM appointments to come through to the front and we were prioritised ahead of those with later appointment times. Once you get upstairs it’s a super efficient process, lots of booths processing and an abundance of automated ticketing to counter prompts on screens. First time you go to the window is for someone to check your documents, then you wait again and are called up to a different window for the interview. I was switching from an E3 to an H1B but my lawyers had already filed the petition so the interview lasted all of 2 minutes (have you had an H1B before + what do you do). Then I was asked to pay the reciprocity fee at a separate cashier window ($1,295) before going back to the same officer. Ended up leaving the embassy at ~9:30/9:40 so was about a 90min process from arrival. Received an email on Tuesday evening (5:30PM GMT) that my passport had been sent out (earlier that day my lawyers confirmed that the status on the portal had changed to “Issued”). Based on what I had read previously, I went to pick my passport up from the DX location on Wednesday (note: even though the tracking will say “out for delivery”, because the destination I chose was the default to the courier shop, there’s really nowhere for it to actually deliver to so it’s already there). The guys at DX seem well versed and knew exactly what the tracking was for etc. Make sure to bring another form of ID - the website has a list of what is acceptable but a drivers license is probably easiest. Overall the entire process took just over 48 hours from time of appointment to when I picked my passport back up from the courier location in Holborn! Super efficient and highly recommend London as a visa location!!
- Gracie (about 2 years ago)

5

 E-3 Renewal
7+ Days
- Booking the appointment was quite easy with lots of availability, I booked only a month out but could have booked within the week. - Arrived 35 mins (advised to arrive 30 mins prior) prior to the appointment (10am appt). Very long line which took upward of 90 minutes to get through. It is outside so definitely take a jacket and an umbrella. - First checkpoint is a DS-160 and passport check, second is security and third is a DS-160 scan and assigning you a number before proceeding up to level 1 (You can't take a laptop or tablet but you don't have to check your backpack or small bag in, you keep it with you as well as your phone which is handy whilst in waiting room) - Level 1 is a waiting room with visa interview windows where your number will appear on a scrolling screen advising which window to go to. - First interview was just a document check and all they wanted were my passport, certified LCA, photo and a support letter addressed to the embassy (if you don't have a photo, they have a photo booth on this level as well); Second interview was very basic asking: "What does your company do? What is your job title?" Scan fingerprints and told visa approved. This inside process took about another 90 minutes so total time was 3 hours. - Only hiccup in the interview was I had selected E3 not E3R but the lady just adjusted that on the spot, not sure if its always that easy. - Passport status changed to issued exactly 7 days after the interview, and available for collection 9 days after (24th November) from the courier company.
- Scott (about 2 years ago)

3

  Renewal
7+ Days
Renewal of J2, no interview required. Had to delay my flight, because the turnaround was 3 weeks, a lot slower than last time. Submitted documents on 21 Nov, and they were ready for pick-up on 9 Dec. Might've been due to Thanksgiving?
- Alice (about 2 years ago)

5

 E-3 New
6 Days
This will be long, as it’s the level of detail I was looking for ahead of my appointment! First thing to note is that if you’re applying for the first time, it’s advised to do so from a country in which you hold citizenship - I definitely scoured these reviews not realising that and assuming I could go anywhere. I am an English/Australian dual national, so I picked London. Third party consulates are generally only advised for renewals. My appointment was at 9am, I arrived at 8.25am and there was already a backlog/queue. So I really would recommend getting the earliest appointment you can, and arriving early. That first queue lasted around 30/40 minutes (outdoor, so rug up warm and bring an umbrella!), and at the front you have to present your DS160 confirmation page and passport, followed by airport-like security. Then there was another (outdoor) queue leading from the security building to the main one. This probably took another 30ish minutes despite it appearing much shorter. That said, it sped up quickly towards the end so it’s possible they were short staffed or having to deal with something unexpected at first. Again, you’re asked for your DS160 and passport before being given a ticket with a number on, and told which floor to go to for your interview. Up the lift you end up in a big waiting room and wait for your number to come up on the screen telling you which booth/screen to head to. It took around 10/15 minutes for mine to show. At the booth I was asked for my DS160, passport, and fingerprints on both hands. At this point he advised I should not have applied with my UK passport as my primary one, despite the fact my Australian passport details were included later in the DS160 form (and despite my lawyers suggestion…). Ultimately they were able to change the details there and then, but I’m not sure if I was just lucky. I was then directed to the other side of the room to wait for my number to appear again for my interview. Again this took another 10 or so minutes. At the interview (also a screen/booth) I was asked for the same forms as last time and my passport, and was asked some questions - I was asked where I’d been backpacking, which I had been a few months prior, though I can’t think where on my forms that would’ve been stated. The officer was really friendly so I also couldn’t tell if this was chit chat or relevant to the interview. He asked which company I’m going to work for, what my new job title was, and confirmed if I’d been working in that field previously. He never asked to see any of my supporting docs, despite my folder full of them! He also didn’t ask anything about my degree, which I was expecting. Of course it goes without saying, this was only my experience and some officers may be more thorough. He told me on the spot that it was approved. Timelines: - 28th November: Went to book appointment and next available was 11 Jan - 11th Jan (Weds): Had appointment at 9am. Process took around 2 hours from arrival to exit - 11th Jan (Weds): Visa status was marked as ‘approved’ on CEAS that day - 13th Jan (Fri): Visa status changed to ‘issued’ by midday - 13th Jan (Fri): Received an email saying passport had been dispatched at 1pm - 16th Jan (Mon): Passport arrived at collection office - 17th Jan (Tues): I collected it from the DX courier office, I arrived a couple minutes before it opened and they’d already opened, there was nobody else there so it took around 1 minute from arrival to exit
- Emily (about 2 years ago)

3

 E-3 New
7+ Days
London Embassy E3 Review. Please note this was at the time of the Coronation, so may have caused some of the backlog/delays in this review. Note also while my visa came back within all usual timeframes, it was a much longer and more stressful process than many of the reviewers have found so far - I will manage my expectations better next time! My timeline was: *Early April - went to book appointments for London. There was nothing available but I kept refreshing and got an appointment middle of May, then early May, then eventually the exact date I wanted at 24th April. Keep refreshing, new spots or cancellations come up all the time! *Monday 24th April - appointment. As others have said, you join a large line outside the Embassy, firstly to check your documents. Someone from the Embassy will check as you join the line, check that you are in the right time, and what time your appointment is. If you are too early, you will be asked to join later. 15 - 30m beforehand is the sweetspot. Once your documents are initially checked and marked, you join the big line next to it to go into the Embassy. This line moves a bit slower but nothing too bad. When you go in you do a security check like at an airport. You ARE allowed to bring your phone in, though unsure about laptops and ipads. From there you take a number at reception, then a lift to the next level, and wait for your number to be called to whatever window, where there will be a line up of people at that window. There you will check your documents again, answer a few questions, and do fingerprints. After that you line up at another line (lots of lining up today!), and do your interview. This is a few questions about your workplace, role, history in the US, as well as them looking at some of your documents, and doing fingerprints again. After this I was approved straight away, and given a card to track passport collection. I was told it would be ready in 3 - 5 days - stoked. My CAEC status was 'approved' straight away. *Towards the end of the week I was concerned I had not received notification my passport was ready. I had a flight booked to leave on the Saturday, which I thought would be plenty of time. I cancelled that flight and extended my accommodation over the weekend, noting it was the first of two long weekends in a row that month. I was hoping it may be ready to go on Tuesday. *Wednesday 3rd May - my application changed to 'Administrative Processing'. I was very nervous as this could have meant an issue or being under review, OR that it was about to be printed and issued. Many people said their status changed to AP in the issuing stage, so I relaxed slightly. *Thursday 4th May - application changed to 'Application Received'. I lost my mind at this point as this is the first step in the process, before Approved. I assume my application had to be reviewed or checked again, as my prior status was a bit complicated. I was absolutely panicking that the Approval and Issuing process would take 10+ days after that, as urgently needed to get home to pack up my apartment at lease end, move interstate, and start a new job, which I'd already pushed out as part of this process. In my panic I emailed the Embassy, who could not give me information, though I do wonder if my fairly unhinged emails got the process moving slightly quicker. *Friday 5th May - application changed to 'Approved'. Very happy, though nervous about the potential length of time until the passport is issued. I sent another unhinged panicked email to the Embassy, with a generic response, though a couple of hours later my status changed to 'Issued', and an hour after that I received tracking. It was then ANOTHER long weekend. My tracking said the visa was 'expected' to arrive on Tuesday. *Tuesday 9th May - after panicking (again) as I did not know the timeframe of when the Visa would be ready for collection and I had booked a flight that day, at 7am the tracking said 'delivered' or 'ready for collection'. I bolted to the DX, it was already open a little before 8am, collected the passport, finally breathed a sigh of relief, and left the country that day! While the process at the Embassy was wonderful, very efficient and streamlined and modern (though do allow 2 hours all up), the steps after that was incredibly stressful. I do hope that this was just due to Coronation backlogs, as others I chatted to were in a similar timeframe. While the extension of the stay was very expensive, and I could have 'saved' money on accommodation back in Aus, or in a country like Brazil, I did feel a lot of confidence in the London office and those I spoke to on email, and didn't need to do a huge flight to get there, so felt it is still a good choice for any visa requirements. I would definitely go there again though with a more open mind about how long the process could actually take
- Georgia (about 1 year ago)

4

 E-3 Renewal
7+ Days
We had a good experience at the London Embassy. Unfortunately one of our applications didn’t submit properly and we had to redo it. Lucky we were able to use their wifi and we didn’t have to make another appointment. We were able to go back to our original counter and after that they put us at the front for the interview. They told us it could take up to two weeks but we got our passports back in 8 days. It was a relatively good experience and even better to have explored London while we waited
- Jessica (about 1 year ago)

5

 E-3 New
7+ Days
First time E-3 review - if you are looking for an appointment ASAP, London is a good location with plenty of cancellations opening spots up just 2-5 days in advance. As pointed out before, the line outside is long, however once you are inside the process is very efficient. My appointment lasted all of 2 minutes. Tip: arrive 45mins to 1 hour prior to your scheduled appointment and by the time you reach the front of the line it will be your time. I was scheduled for 9am and arrived at 8:10am. I entered the embassy at 9:10am. When I exited the embassy after my appointment the line had more than doubled from when I arrived at 8:10am so if you have a later appointment (i.e. 10am or 10:30am) consider arriving well over an hour prior. The issue with London at this point is the passport turnaround time is about 8 days. I had my appointment on a Tuesday. I received the courier tracking email on the following Tuesday afternoon and picked up the passport first thing Wednesday morning. Tip: don’t wait for the tracking link to say ‘out for delivery’ or ‘ready for collection’. Even if you don’t see any tracking updates your passport will be ready for you at the courier pickup location the morning after you receive the tracking link (keep in mind the courier pickup is closed on weekends). Go at 8am to pickup your passport and there will be no lines.
- Michael (about 1 year ago)

5

 E-3 New
7+ Days
Recently got a new E3 visa in London. Appointment was on Thursday June 15th, with the whole process taking about 1 1/2 hours. It was very seamless and straightforward, even though the lines were long they moved relatively quickly. During the interview part the only questions I got asked were what is the name of your employer, what type of work will you be doing and what is your highest level of education. I brought heaps of printed documentation but didn't have to show anything. My visa was approved on the spot and she said it would take 2 weeks to get back. On Friday 23rd June the CEAC status changed from 'Approved' to 'Issued.' Monday 26th June around 2:30pm I received the tracking number saying my passport was due to be delivered the following day (Tuesday 27th June). I went to the DX centre around 4:30pm the Monday anyway just to check if they had received, they hadn't. They said to come back in the morning at 8:00am. I arrived at 7:50am, doors were already open with no lines. Collected my passport with no issues and flew out that day. Overall I had a good experience and highly rate the London embassy.
- Rachel (about 1 year ago)

4

 E-3 Renewal
7+ Days
I found this location after multiple DS160 redos. We were planning to do it in Lima, but they don't have any appointments whatsoever despite saying on the American website. Appointment times were available and the interview went very smooth (two questions). All in all it took around a week for the visa to be issued and I assume I will be getting it back on Friday 6/30
- William (about 1 year ago)

2

 E-3 Renewal
7+ Days
Me and my husband attended the interview on Tuesday May 30th. Mine an e3 renewal, my husband moving over to an E3d as we recently got married. Approved on the spot. No issues, just had to show our marriage license. Our visa status updated to approved the same day. 10 days of waiting and then my husbands visa status changed to Administrative Processing (mine stayed approved). We started to get worried but after speaking to a few people, it should change to issued within a few days. Well, it didn’t. It took an additional 2 full weeks for my husbands to change to “application reviewed”, then back to “approved”, then finally to “issued”. We were in London for a little under 4 weeks. Extremely stressful, and an expensive place to be stuck in limbo. We emailed the embassy twice for updates. They never replied.
- Jamie (about 1 year ago)

5

 E-3 New
7+ Days
My visa appointment was for Friday, June 30 at 10am. Although I was supposed to fly into London at 6:30am, due to multiple flight delays (thanks Air Canada) I didn't land at Heathrow until around 9:30am. I had emailed the embassy prior to boarding my flight, knowing I would be arriving late. The email informed me that "it is not possible to access consular services after 11am". Well, I wasn't getting there before 11am... I booked it to the embassy and arrived an hour and a half late. I put on a smile, didn't say anything about being late upon checking in and thankfully was let through. Not sure if I was just lucky. The entire appointment process was straightforward and took close to 2.5 hours, at the end of which the guy told me I should expect to get my passport back in 7 business days. I got the email that my visa had been issued the following Thursday, July 6 and it was ready for pickup the next day - 7 days total. I got to the courier pickup location a couple of hours after it had opened and only had to wait behind one other person. Note that July 4 was a public holiday for the embassy, so it could have been processed a little quicker if it weren't for that. Beautiful embassy, longer processing times than some other location reviews on here, but would recommend considering this embassy has experience with processing a lot of E3 visas.
- Ari (about 1 year ago)

4

 E-3 New
4 Days
Very well organised facility and picking up my passport from the designated location was well communicated and easily done.
- Maeve (about 2 years ago)

5

 E-3 New
3 Days
My experience seemed a little different than others so ima add it here: - appointment was at 9am Monday July 24th - got to embassy at 8:15am and joined the line outside (wasn’t very long when I got there but became quite long a mere 5 mins later) - got to first check in point at 8:30 where they look at your passport and ds160 - went through security which took less than 5 mins - went through next checkpoint where they gave me a sticker indicating my number which took about 5 mins - went up to the first level and waited maybe 15-20 mins for the next checkpoint where she asked me where I was residing and when I arrived in London and took my fingerprints - lined up for the interview, this was the longest part where I waited in line for over an hour (maybe about 75 mins - bring something to read or headphones) - got to my interview, she asked me if I was a student or not, where I was going to be working and my job title (overall took less than 5 mins) - approved on the spot, she said should get it in a week and had changed in ceac day of appt - checked my ceac status the next day (Tuesday July 25) in the afternoon and it had changed to issued - received email around noon on Wednesday (July 26) that it had been sent to DX - will pick it up either Thursday or Friday morning
- Lin (about 1 year ago)

4

 E-3 Renewal
5 Days
Overall, pretty smooth experience! Arrived 30 mins early and waited in the line outside for approx. 40 mins. Got number and front desk and then up to the 2nd floor where I waited in the document check area for approx. 30 mins, then waited in interview line approx. 30 mins. This was my 5th renewal with the same company and was only asked one question: "What is your role?" and Bob's your uncle!
- Analisa (about 1 year ago)

5

 E-3 Renewal
3 Days
Just got back from my E-3 Renewal in London. Overall a very seamless experience, 3 day turnaround, would recommend. Quick order of events: 1. Appt was at 9:00am. I got to the consulate at 8:30. They do a check in of your cover page of the DS-160 and your passport outside of the building, the line was long but moved quickly, I waited maybe 5-10 mins. 2. You then go through security and into the main building. Waited in line again, they put a sticker on your DS-160 page and send you up in an elevator to the main processing room 3. You're given a ticket when you get to the main processing room, and wait for it to be called (like a shopfront/DMV). That took about 30 mins. The person at the counter asked for my LCA, the photo for the visa and the DS-160 cover page and they ten-print you. They checked it and put it all into a plastic sleeve for me. They asked me if I was a renewal or a new visa and they asked to see my old visa which was in my old passport, which I also brought with me. 4. Proceed to actual interview line. This is where the wait was, I stood for about 90 mins. Get to the counter finally, they asked me what I did for work and told me I had been approved, then took the passport from me and told me it would be returned in 7 business days. Overall the interaction time was very quick and easy, just the waiting in lines is what takes so long. 5. Later that day the visa status changed to Issued, and I received a notification from the courier on Thurs (2 days later) that it was out for delivery. I collected my passport on Friday afternoon from the DX in Holborn (3 days after). I had planned for 5 business days overall so I was happy it returned so quickly.
- Aly (about 1 year ago)

5

 E-3 Renewal
3 Days
We did pay for premium processing, (delivery to our hotel in Soho which incidentally was very close to the company that was delivering) the passport with visa inside was delivered in the afternoon, 3 days later.
- Michelle (about 1 year ago)

5

 E-3 New
5 Days
Similar process as per most of the reviews arrived 30 mins before the 9.00 am appointment, joined one queue to check in, and then second to go through security. Once inside I had to officially check-in and with my number allocation in hand was sent upstairs to the first part of the process. After 10 mins the number was called resulting in a quick check of paperwork, and fingerprints being taken. Then joined the queue for the interview, which took a little longer, about 40 mins. The interview itself was super-fast, name, what is your job, and then some pleasantries before being told the visa was approved and I should receive my passport within 7 days, out by 10.30 am. The interview was on a Thursday and by that afternoon status had changed to approved, the following Monday received an email indicating the passport was on its way to the place of collection and collected Tuesday morning. So a total of 6 days including the day of the interview and 2 weekend days so much swifter than expected and a great experience with really friendly and helpful staff.
- Trevor (about 12 months ago)

5

 E-3 Renewal
4 Days
Aug 7 appointment, visa approved on the spot. Aug 8 status changed from approved to issued. Aug 9 delivered to courier. Aug 10 picked up from DX. While this location was the busiest consulate I have ever visited, it’s a well oiled machine. Worth noting you can get passport photos inside, grab a coffee while you wait, and you don’t have to check your phone. Would recommend London for visa processing for sure. Pick up at the DX was easy, bring some form of ID - even your name on a bank card.
- Mads (about 12 months ago)

5

 E-3 Renewal
5 Days
This was probably one of the smoothest E3 renewals (this is my 3rd) I've had so far. My appointment was at 8:30am. I got there an hour early just in case. I hopped in line at 7:30am to do the first check (DS-160 and passport to be shown), they noted the time of the interview on the DS-160. After that you enter a security line where they check your bag (small bags allowed. No need to check in your phone. No large bags or suitcases and no laptops). You get to the front desk and they tell you which elevator to go to and stick a ticket number on your passport. Once you're there, you can sit and wait until your ticket is called or appears on one of the many screens. There is a small kiosk in the middle of this lobby area so you can get a coffee and a snack while you wait. There is also an option to have your passport/visa photo taken on the same level. When your ticket is called, they check your DS-160, passport and LCA, they put this in a clear plastic envelope and tell you to go to the interview line. The interview itself was fairly straightforward. I was asked if I was with the same employer and what I did and where my job was located (along with some small chat). I was approved on the spot and by the time I exited the consulate, it was 9:30am. During that hour, it was moving along so there wasn't really any long waiting times. I had my interview on a Aug 30 (Wednesday) and received a notification on September 1 (Friday) that it would be delivered on September 4 (Monday). I picked it up on Monday at the DX and it was pretty easy. Have some form of ID and your tracking number ready (it will be sent to you in an email as well as be on the website where you can see your appointment status (https://ais.usvisa-info.com/). This site was a huge help for me in preparing for the interview and put my mind at ease. It was helpful to see peoples recent experiences and the wait times for interviews in one place. Good luck to you all!
- Kristine (about 11 months ago)

5

 E-3 New
2 Days
Couldn't believe how smoothly everything went. I was worried at first doing my E3 from London instead of Melbourne or Sydney, but there was absolutely nothing to be worried about. Appointment was on Monday 10th of Sept. Rocked up 30 mins early. They ask for your DS-160 printout at the door and give you a ticket number. I waited about 30 mins for the stage 1 interview. This interview goes for under a minute. I was asked what visa I was applying for (E3), if it's my first E3, and how long I've been working for this company for (I said I hadn't started yet; you're not allowed to start until your visa is approved, so I guess this is to trip people up). Once done, you move across to the stage 2 interview. This line was 1hr 30 long, so be prepared to wait. Many people brought a book, I did crosswords on my phone. Once I got to the front and did my interview, it went for less than a minute. I wasn't asked for any documents except for my passport, DS-160 printout, and the certified LCA printout. I also had with me a degree equivalency, degree transcript and testamur, visa fee receipt, physical copies of my visa/passport photos, and formalised job offer, however I wasn't asked for any of these - only passport, DS-160, LCA. I was approved on the spot, and said I should get my passport back within a week. This was on a Monday at around 12.30pm. The next day at 2pm, I got an email saying my document (passport) had been picked up by a courier and would be ready for pickup the day after (Wednesday). At 5am Wednesday I was notified it was ready for pickup from the 50 Chancery Lane location in central London (note they don't open until 8 or 9am). All in all, it was a super smooth process and I got my passport back within 48 hours of my interview (Mon - Wed). I could've flown back to the States that afternoon but stayed a couple more days as I had accomm booked since I didn't think the process would be that fast. Think I was one of the lucky ones! All the best on your application, hope this helped.
- Callan (about 11 months ago)

5

 A Renewal
5 Days
Actually got L1/L2 - but no option for it in the dropdown??? Very easy process in London. Total time was about 2 hours. There was alot of people there, but seemed to go smoothly. Also you can take bags/backpacks, phones, water bottles. Even had a small cafe set up at the interview area. Appointment Wed 18th Oct - notified via email Friday 20th passport was processed and being sent to courier. Mon received notification of tracking number. Tues 24th, collected from courier location.
- Jo (about 9 months ago)

5

 E-3 New
3 Days
Very easy and straightforward location to obtain the e3. Recommend to have a Monday appointment (first availabilities) so you can get back within a week.
- Marianne (about 8 months ago)

5

 E-3 New
2 Days

- Sinead (about 7 months ago)

5

 E-3 New
2 Days
Applied for an appointment for a new E3 about 3 weeks in advance. I could’ve booked an earlier appointment but had given myself 10 business days from when my LCA was submitted. My LCA ended up taking 4 business days to process. Appointment was for 8.30am Monday. I came prepared with a whole folder of supporting documentation, however the only documents they looked at were my DS-160 and the confirmed LCA. Stage 1 interview I was asked about whether this was the first time I was applying for this visa. Stage 2 was fingerprints. Stage 3 was interview. The interview process was easy - she asked for the company name, job title, qualifications, and what I’d been doing in Australia and for how long. Then she told me it was approved and would take about a week to get my visa back. The whole process took 1.5hrs. Received notification Tuesday afternoon that my passport & visa were processed and issued and being sent via courier. And woke up Wednesday to an email saying my passport is ready for pickup. So 3 weeks to book an appointment 3 business days from appointment to collecting passport.
- Madeleine (about 6 months ago)

5

 E-3 Renewal
3 Days
I had an excellent experience and would highly recommend this location to everyone. Finding the place is straightforward; you can take a bus to the US embassy stop. Personally, I took the train to Vauxhall station and then caught a bus to the US embassy. Upon arrival, be prepared to check in and wait outside the embassy for security screening. We waited for about 30 minutes. Although my wife and I applied separately, they requested that we proceed as a family during the check-in process. My appointment was on Thursday at 10 AM, while my wife's was at 9 AM; we were admitted together. Following security screening, you'll enter the building to receive a ticket number. The process consists of three stages: document validation, fingerprinting, and the interview. Progress between stages is rapid, with fast-moving lines until the third stage, where we waited for about 15 minutes. It's essential to be familiar with the information provided in your DS-160 application, as the officer will review each point during the interview. The questions asked included the purpose of the US visit, identifying the primary applicant, tenure with the current company and in the US, salary details, and requests for marriage and birth certificates. Additionally, they inquired about my previous L1 visa denial and whether I had an immigrant application in process, as indicated in my DS-160. Afterward, we received the good news and concluded the process. Our passports were ready for collection from the DX courier location on Monday, conveniently accessible via train (Chancery Lane - the nearest station).
- Bhavin Patel (about 5 months ago)

5

 E-3 New
2 Days
Ready to book appointment (LCA filed): Thu 11 Apr First available appointment: Wed 1 May Rebooked (last minute appointment available): Tue 23 April New appointment: Wed 24 April Notified passport ready to collect: Fri 26 April Collected passport: Mon 29 Apr I arrived at the Embassy at 0800 for a 0900 appointment. There were two queues outside: (1) Short queue to have time written on your DS-160 (“check-in”) …then you go to the other queue… (2) Long queue to wait - approx 50 people and it took 30 mins to get into Embassy You can bring small bags, phone, tablet but NOT laptops. Inside there are various queues that move quite quickly. There are toilets in the main processing area. Stage 1: Show DS160, passport, LCA, booking barcode form Stage 2: Fingerprints Stage 3: Interview My interview lasted less than 5 minutes. I was asked the purpose of my visit, company name, and job title. The only supporting document requested was the LCA. I was finished about 1.5 from when I arrived
- Catherine (about 3 months ago)

4

 E-3 Renewal
7+ Days
My appointment was at 10 am on a Tuesday. Arriving there was a long queue to verify appointment sheet and get it signed and then another long queue to enter / security check. Inside there was a different queue for each stage - stages 1-4. It kept moving and everything went smoothly. I was asked about my company, role and state of residence. In the final stage, they said I will get my passport back in a week. My flight back was scheduled on Wed the following week at 5 PM. I received the email notification of passport returned on Tuesday the following week at 3.04 PM. I was a nervous wreck on the day, wondering if I would need to extend my stay, change my flight and find a new hotel. Luckily I did not need to. I picked my passport from the DX location on Wednesday morning around 8.12 am and there was no queue, it only took a minute. Everything was smooth. I guess it took 8 days for me to get the passport back. This is longer than some of the reviews here which were 3 or 4 days. Suggest adding +1 day to whatever the consulate staff tell you to allow for pickup. Choose document pickup instead of courier location if you are in a rush.
- Shelly (about 3 months ago)

4

 E-3 New
2 Days
The whole process was well organised. The only time it's not completely obvious what to do is when the lift arrives on the second floor and you're left facing a room of queues and information but it's not immediately obvious which queue and what info applies to you. However, once you've determined which area you need to wait in, everything was really easy. The lady who did my "interview" (it was very brief!) said it would take a week to get my passport back. My appointment was 10am on a Wednesday but I was notified just after midnight on Friday that I could collect my passport from Chancery Lane. Overall, pretty impressed!
- Jess (about 3 months ago)

5

 E-3 New
2 Days
Incredibly efficient - 48hrs from verbal approval at the embassy to collecting my passport/visa at Chancery Lane
- Sam (about 2 months ago)

4

 E-3 New
7+ Days
Appointment at 9:00am. Arrived at 8.10am and was through security by 8:30am. Appointment straight forward and was out of there by 9:45am. Easy. Wait for passport return long than expected. Was thinking 3-5 business days. Appointment was the Thur the 6th and i got passport back Tuesday the 18th. Anyway overall pretty good.
- Paul (about 2 months ago)

5

 E-3 Renewal
3 Days
Great experience - I did have a 11AM appointment, so the lines were long to get in and get out through all stages. Took me a total of 2 hours to go through all the stages. Status changed to 'Issued' in 48 hours and my passport was available for collection on Thursday 27/6.
- Binita (about 1 month ago)

5

 E-3 Renewal
3 Days

- Mel (about 1 month ago)