US Embassy London, UK Reviews

Looking to get your US Visa at the US Embassy London, UK?

Below you will find reviews from others who have, including turnaround times, and appointment wait times.

If you’re looking for more information about the types of visa available and other locations, visit my Immigration section and you can read everything from a step-by-step guide to the E3 visa through to introductions to the best immigration lawyers available.

If you have any questions, please don’t hesitate to comment below or email [email protected] – I love getting your questions!

If you’ve recently gone through a visa process (good or bad), I’d love to hear about it so I can help people in the future!

London, UK

4.78

3.47 days

7 days

45 reviews

5

 E-3 Renewal
5 Days
Perfectly easy and no hassles in London No questions really friendly polite guy
- Lesley (about 2 years ago)

5

 H-1B New
2 Days
I was not expecting such a quick turnaround time! I had stressed to the officer that I had a flight out in a few days and needed my passport back by then - I'm not sure if that sped up the process, or if 2 days is the normal processing time.
- Nicole (about 1 year ago)

5

 E-3 New
4 Days
Super quick and easy, be sure to check the system for any cancellations to get a sooner appointment.
- DC (about 2 years ago)

5

 E-3 New
3 Days
August is a quiet month in Europe, so there were no lines and I was admitted to the Embassy 45 minutes prior to my 12:30pm appointment time. They asked me two questions (what is the job? What is your degree?) before my visa was approved on the spot. I had my passport in hand with the visa inside three days later.
- Aimee (about 1 year ago)

4

 E-3 New
7+ Days
it was a good 2 + weeks until I got my passport back.
- Jana (about 2 years ago)

4

 E-3 New
5 Days

- Daisy (about 2 years ago)

5

 E-3 New
2 Days
Process was super quick and streamlined. Overall I was probably at the embassy for just over an hour. My interview took less than a minute. They only asked me what the new job was, which company it was for, what my salary was and if I had a degree. Approved on the spot and passport back in 2 days!
- Alex (about 1 year ago)

5

 E-3 New
5 Days
Interview lasted about 3mins. Standard questions around where I will be working & what I will be doing. Told me on the spot that I was approved. Gordon Ramsay was there too doing his visa & I think mine was approved before his.
- Brand (about 1 year ago)

5

 E-3 New
3 Days
The interview itself went for five minutes. I was asked two formal questions, and the rest of the time was spent talking about New York weather, vacation days, and recommendations for London. Very easy process.
- Tom (about 1 year ago)

4

 E-3 New
7+ Days
I arrived Monday. My appointment was on Tuesday at 1pm. I arrived at 12.15pm for security check. Left at 1.30pm. Approx 1 hour all up.
- Emily (about 11 months ago)

5

 E-3 New
3 Days
Really easy. I was only asked the LCA and to explain what job I will be doing in the US and I was approved on the spot.
- Michaela (about 11 months ago)

5

 E-3 New
6 Days
New consulate is much bigger, thus busier than old consulate in Mayfair. Turnaround time was 6 days compared to 3 last time. Very helpful and pleasant staff. Just make sure you have all your paperwork, photos and supporting docs.
- AS (about 11 months ago)

5

 E-3 New
2 Days
Had my appointment on Monday and passport was ready for pick up by Wednesday. Super quick, super easy. I came prepared with all my documents but they only wanted to see my DS-160, LCA and passport. Interview took less than a minute and I was at the embassy for just 45 minutes.
- Charmaine (about 11 months ago)

5

 E-3 Renewal
2 Days
Very nice embassy with extremely polite staff. We selected a delivery point in Birmingham and our visa was ready two days later. We picked it up the following morning.
- Virginia (about 11 months ago)

5

 E-3 New
6 Days

- Maddy (about 11 months ago)

5

 E-3 Renewal
3 Days
Brand new consulate, so queue management, waiting facilities, even security screening was relatively pleasant (not that this process is ever fun)
- Cal (about 10 months ago)

5

 E-3 New
2 Days
I had my appointment at 8:30am on a Monday morning, arrived to the embassy at 7:50 and was out the door by 9am. Received my passport back two days later on a Wednesday from th collection location. New embassy is lovely and process was the smoothest out of the three E3 visas I’ve done prior.
- Rachael (about 9 months ago)

5

 E-3 New
4 Days

- Simon (about 10 months ago)

5

 E-3 New
2 Days
Just got back from an E3 Visa run in London. It was a great experience and only took 2 days. My interview was scheduled for 8:30am last Wednesday. I arrived about 45 minutes early hoping to get it over and done with. This turned out to be a bit of a mistake as I had to stand outside in the cold for 15 minutes while they got the 8am appointments through. Once inside it was all done within 45 minutes. I chose to have my passport delivered to DX Couriers on Chancery Lane, near the British Museum. I received notification on Thursday that it would be ready on Friday, and went and picked it up at 11am.
- Aaron (about 9 months ago)

5

 E-3 New
4 Days
8.30am Interview on Wednesday morning, from lining up in the queue to out of the consulate in less than an hour. Received the email suggesting approval on Friday morning and picked up the passport on the next Monday.
- Steven (about 7 months ago)

5

 E-3 New
4 Days
Although I'd done a visa run in London before and it had been a quick, smooth process I was a little hesitant this time due to a HR contact at my new Company saying that I would get rejected in London and must go back to Australia to get the visa. Mainly due to the current Administration and the fact that the risk of rejection is always much less in Australia. I went against their advice and had a great visa run! Appointment was 8am Friday (first appointment of the day). I lined up at 7.30am and they started letting people in at 7.50am. I was finished and out the door by 8.20am! And everyone at the Embassy was very friendly. Definitely recommend London. However, should note that I'm also a British citizen.
- Jasmine (about 7 months ago)

5

 E-3 New
6 Days
Notes: the DS-160 can be completed without LCA info. They just ask for the LCA paperwork at the interview. You can chose one Embassy location during the DS-160 and then schedule the interview at a different location - they can upload your records from one system to another. London Embassy has a photo booth inside the building - but they may not require a photo if you have already uploaded one in your DS-160 application. London Embassy allows phones/handbags/food 🙂 and has wifi! No need to show up much earlier than your scheduled interview time as they make you wait outside until your time slot.
- Geraldine (about 6 months ago)

5

 E-3 Renewal
4 Days
Very smooth and quick.. it took but more than 1 hour from entry to exit. I attended on Friday and Monday Visa Issued, Tuesday got email and Wedday passport collection. I did last one in Mexico and took 6 days but London is much better and quicker
- Sayem (about 4 months ago)

5

 E-3 New
3 Days

- Bec (about 8 months ago)

5

 L-2 Renewal
1 Day

- Anna (about 4 months ago)

5

 E-3 New
3 Days

- Chad (about 4 months ago)

5

 E-3 New
3 Days

- Sam (about 5 months ago)

5

 E-3 Renewal
3 Days

- (about 4 months ago)

4

 E-3 New
3 Days
My appointment was originally scheduled for 4 weeks from my DS160 submission date. I checked every day for an earlier appointment and snagged one a week away. The was super busy, and my officer wasn't aware that you can electronically have your passport stamped at entry - so my application was originally questioned. Was that was cleared up, I was approved right away.
- Emma (about 3 months ago)

5

 E-3 New
4 Days
From reading other's reviews/info I understood I thought I could only change my appointment three times - this wasn't the case. I initially booked the soonest appointment available (6 weeks away), but checked back every hour or so and was able to change my appointment multiple times until I booked a date I was happy with.
- Talina (about 3 months ago)

5

 E-3 New
4 Days
I was made a job offer in NYC in June 2019 and my company (fortunately) provided me with a lawyer to prepare documentation for my visa interview. At the time of booking, the appointment wait time was about 3 weeks. I took a risk in buying a return flight for 5 business days after the visa appointment date. The US Embassy in London is very new and boasts an impressive processing system (relative to other consulates and government bodies). I showed up 30 minutes before my appointment time of 9am but would recommend arriving with more time than this. The entire process took roughly 2 hours, the ticketing/waiting process worked well, and the consular officers were friendly. Although my lawyer had prepared a pile of documentation about 1cm thick to support my application (not including my original Degree certificate that my parents express posted from Australia), the *only* documents the officer asked me for were 1. My passport, 2. The completed Labor Condition Application and 3. My job offer letter. The officer assessing my case never said the word 'approved', however, wished me a good time in New York which had me in two minds about whether my visa required further processing or not. Luckily, two days later, I got an email from the embassy saying my passport would be ready for collection the following business day. I flew to the USA 2 days after collecting my passport and entered with extreme ease. The immigration officer looked at my passport for probably 5 seconds, asked me what I'm doing for work, then stamped me in. Done. Based on my experience I would highly recommend getting your first E-3 in London 🙂
- Matt (about 2 months ago)

5

 E-3 New
2 Days
I had to get new E3 as was switching employers. I could find appointment with 3 weeks waiting for July 15. I chose London over others as it's quicker to fly from NYC and heard they allow kids to enter the interview area as well. I think this is the best US embassy in the world! The facility is clean, big and friendly people. My appointment was at 9 am monday and I got in at 8:30 . They let me in early as had 2 kids along with spouse. Total process took 2 hrs. Visa officer asked if it's renewal of new E3. Why am I switching? What does company do? Then he said it looks all good. I will definitely be renewing at London again.
- Rahul (about 2 months ago)

5

 E-3 Renewal
3 Days

- (about 3 months ago)

5

 E-3 Renewal
2 Days
The new USA consulate is super organized. Staffed outside by Londoners, so no angst. Inside everything is very streamlined. Advice would be to get an 8am appointment and be done by 8:45am. There's even a great Aussie Cafe next door called 'District' that will have you reconsidering living away from Oz...
- Jason (about 2 months ago)

5

 E-3 New
3 Days
London is super easy and convenient.
- Jenna (about 2 months ago)

5

 E-3 Renewal
1 Day

- Lucy (about 1 month ago)

2

 E-3 Renewal
7+ Days
Nightmare. They said 3-5 business days. I didn’t get it back until the 7th business day. Had to rebook and repay for travel for a family of 4. Total disaster
- Rachel (about 3 months ago)

5

 E-3 New
2 Days

- Elli (about 8 months ago)

5

 E-3 New
3 Days
We applied for our first E3 and E3D vis at the London embassy. All up it took about 2 hours from when we first arrived to when we finished and left. We were asked a total of 3 questions. We interviewed on a Tuesday and our passports were ready for pick up on Friday.
- Isabel (about 2 months ago)

5

 E-3 Renewal
2 Days

- Emma (about 2 months ago)

5

 E-3 Renewal
2 Days

- (about 1 year ago)

4

 E-3 New
4 Days
I had heard only amazing things about the London US embassy, so I booked the first available appointment and kept refreshing until I got one about a week earlier than I had originally booked, a Monday at 9AM. All up from entrance to exit was about 2 hours. My interview was odd - the interviewer didn’t say approved, he asked me two basic questions (is this your first E-3 - “no” and do you have a degree - “yes”) then said ok cool that’s it cya! I was a bit worried after that but he kept my passport so I assumed it was fine. After that, I kept refreshing the visa status page until Thursday at 3PM when it changed to “issued” and I went to the pick up location Friday morning to see if my passport was there - it was. I didn’t receive the email that I could pick it up until Saturday, so I encourage everyone to check the status online or just show up to the location after a few days. Flew out Saturday morning and customs was a breeze! Note: this is my 4th E3, and a new job after I renewed my previous E3 in April of this year.
- Caitlin (about 30 days ago)

4

 E-3 New
2 Days
Around a 2 hour wait time from arrival to interview time. They allow medium sized bags and for you to keep your phone with you. No laptops though. There was a security breach while I was waiting for my number to come up which delayed the process by around 30mins (all the staff were removed from the floor for this time while we were waiting to hear if we would be evacuated or not). I got an appointment 10 days after submitting my DS-160, despite there being a 5-6 week wait time, I just kept refreshing the page for 24 hours until I could grab someone else's cancellation. Overall, a pretty straight forward experience and received passport back 2 days later.
- Dana (about 28 days ago)

4

 E-3 Renewal
5 Days
Get to the consulate early
- Laura (about 2 months ago)

5

 E-3 New
3 Days
First time E3 in London review: - I had an 8am appointment, and would definitely recommend getting that first appointment of the day if you can. When I left, the line was huge. - I arrived at 7.15am and was 10th in line, about 20 more people arrived in the next 10 minutes. - At 7.30 they opened the doors and checked everyone had their ds160 and passport, then we went through security. - At 7.55 I got called to the first desk where I was asked for my ds160, passport, LCA and copy of my photo. She packaged this up for me. - At 8.20 I got called to the interview desk and asked for that package. - The interviewer asked: Is this your first E3? Is this a new employer? What do you do? Do you have a degree? - After that she told me I was approved and that my passport will be ready in a week. I had the offer letter and other docs ready, but wasn’t asked for those. - I was out of the embassy at 8.27am. It was a really smooth process, all the staff are so nice and it was better than I expected! I was so nervous beforehand. Would highly recommend! Got my passport back 3 business days later.
- Andrea (about 13 days ago)