US Embassy Melbourne VIC, Australia Reviews

Looking to get your US Visa at the US Consulate Melbourne VIC, Australia?

Below you will find reviews from others who have, including turnaround times, and appointment wait times.

If you’re looking for more information about the types of visa available and other locations, visit my Immigration section and you can read everything from a step-by-step guide to the E3 visa through to introductions to the best immigration lawyers available.

If you have any questions, please don’t hesitate to comment below or email [email protected] – I love getting your questions!

If you’ve recently gone through a visa process (good or bad), I’d love to hear about it so I can help people in the future!

Melbourne VIC, Australia

4.33

4.27 days

Closed

30 reviews

5

 E-3 Renewal
3 Days
Very quick. If you get one of the earliest appointments of the day and arrive with plenty of time to line up in the security queue you can be in and out in less than an hour (once security opens)
- Edwina (about 4 years ago)

4

 E-3 New
7+ Days
SLower turn-around times compared to other locations, but they are very familiar with the E-3, so the interviews are usually quick and straightforward.
- Edward (about 3 years ago)

4

 E-3 New
6 Days

- (about 3 years ago)

5

 E-3 New
3 Days

- Amy (about 2 years ago)

3

 E-3 New
7+ Days
Administrative Processing added 3 extra days to the process. This was my third Visa, so be prepared for this unless applying for your first or second Visa.
- Ed (about 2 years ago)

4

 E-3 New
4 Days
I was well prepared but officer only asked for LCA and passport. 1.5 hr wait, 1 min interview
- Sarah (about 1 year ago)

5

 E-3 New
7+ Days
Super easy, didn't have to wait long for an appointment, took 7 days from date of interview to get passport back (sent to Sydney).
- Adriana (about 1 year ago)

5

 E-3 New
4 Days
You get in line for the 9:45 entry, doesn’t seem to matter if you’re end of the line / last let in
- Nick (about 1 year ago)

4

 E-3 New
4 Days
The wait time to get into the consulate was extremely long. I had a 9am appointment and didn’t get in until 10:30am. Be prepared to wait and block out a few hours of your day!
- Edwina (about 1 year ago)

4

 E-3 Renewal
3 Days

- (about 1 year ago)

4

 E-3D New
4 Days
Staff are warm and personable. It was a long wait in the first security line - I arrived at 9.20am for a 9.45am appointment and was through security at 11am. Queue 1 upstairs took 30 minutes and I was out the door after the interview by 12.15pm. It helped the consulate staff that I had taken a copy of my partner’s new E3 visa. It would have helped me if I had taken a book, though I enjoyed the camaraderie and the conversations with my fellow applicants while we waited and waited and waited. Even the security staff seemed to have a working knowledge of Dante’s Inferno and the seven circles of hell. This was a new visa (new employer) but also our third E3-D for me and our kids - my first time going through the process separately to my partner.
- Kate (about 1 year ago)

4

 E-3 New
3 Days
Melbourne consulate was a bit of a hellish experience although staff were all nice. Security wait times took about 90 minutes. Arrived at 9:15am and got in at around 10:45am. Although I was in the 9:45am appointment time this did not seem to matter. Once through security (they have lockers there for small handbags/bags) you take your paper and go upstairs. You get into another queue for another 1.5 hours. This seemed dumb as there were chairs were you could sit, not sure why you cannot take a number or they call you but whatever. I recommend bringing a book to read. Questions asked included my previous green card lottery applications and a few questions about my role. Interviewer was not too stern either which was nice.
- Caroline (about 1 year ago)

5

 E-3 New
4 Days
Visa appt was 9am Monday and my passport was back to me in Adelaide by Thursday afternoon
- Kirsten (about 1 year ago)

3

 E-3 Renewal
7+ Days
Even if you book an appointment for 10, get there before it opens.. they don't seem to care about appointment time, I waited for 2.5 hours in line.
- Dani (about 1 year ago)

5

 L-1B New
1 Day
Bit of a wait to book here, but on the actual day was fine. Didn’t get too many questions, got the visa the next day.
- Lana (about 3 years ago)

4

 E-3 Renewal
3 Days
Wear comfortable shoes and have all your docs ready, even things you don't think you need. I brought my expired passport that had my current visa. The consulate official stamped it to cancel it. I also brought things like Aus bank statements and my most recent ATO tax filing to prove I haven't cut off ties. There's no seating in the Melb consulate so we had to stand in line the whole time we were waiting. The staff were quick and professional.
- Nicole (about 1 year ago)

4

 O-1 New
3 Days
Book one of the first appointments for the day (around 9 am) to avoid hours of waiting. Grab a takeout coffee from the lobby cafe and get in line around 8 am. If you do this, you should be in and out of the consulate in under an hour. I had short waits between interviews once inside (under 10 minutes). Longest part was lining up to get inside.
- Amy (about 2 years ago)

4

 E-3 Renewal
3 Days
Grab a snack/drink in the coffee shop in the lobby of the building before you get in the line.
- Ivan (about 1 year ago)

5

 O-1 New
3 Days
9:30am appointment but due to short lines I was through security at 9:10! In and out in 1.5 hours with my passport and visa back in hand 3 days later. Friendly staff, would recommend
- Natalie (about 1 year ago)

5

 E-3 New
3 Days
Easy interview, consulate was very bust so wait times at the interview were a little long. Interview was three easy questions and only took a minute or two.
- Gemma (about 1 year ago)

4

 E-3 New
4 Days
I live in Sydney but scheduled my appointment for Melbourne due to appointment wait times. I received my passport back within 4 days and am very impressed! This was faster than my first E3 (old employer) in Sydney which took 5 days within the same city.
- Sarah (about 1 year ago)

5

 E-3 Renewal
6 Days
Melbourne August 2019 was busier than the previous times I have interviewed there (Xmas 2017 being the most recent). This was reflected in the wait time on the day (1.5 hour wait for a 1 minute interview) and passport return (6 days whereas previous experiences have been ~3 days). Good online tracking of passport return with TOLL.
- E (about 1 year ago)

5

 E-3 New
5 Days
Very good experience at the Melbourne Consulate. Interview wait time was 20 calendar days which could not be avoided. My interview was at 9am for a new E3 and I arrived just before 8 in an attempt to expedite the wait. I was perhaps in line for 25 minutes prior to being called through, then another 15 minutes before the interview itself (which lasted less than 2 minutes). Questions asked were brief and in relation to whether you have applied before, what your degree is and where you are going to work. Be sure to have a letter of offer or petition letter form your prospective employer.
- Tom (about 1 year ago)

4

 E-3 New
4 Days
Small consulate but very friendly. Got an appointment at 9.45; arrived at 8.30 and good thing as the line took over an hour (they're flexible with appointment times, it's not like you'll be dined entry for being late). Presented documents downstairs and went through security (please don't take laptops or ipads), waited upstairs for maybe ten minutes for a documents check, then another ten minutes for the interview. Had a few questions asked (what do I do, where is my org, visa history etc), and was approved on the spot. Passport return was delayed: had appointment Thu morning, didn't receive tracking number until Monday and only after calling the Travel Docs phone number, then had to harass Toll Couriers to get my passport back for a Wed flight. My fault for booking a tight turnaround, but Toll are useless.
- Sam (about 1 year ago)

4

 E-3 New
3 Days
If you're interstate, book a hotel close by the night before for ease. Book the earliest slot to avoid excessive waiting.
- Catherine (about 1 year ago)

5

 E-3 New
3 Days
I had my appointment in Melbourne and my passport was sent back to Sydney 3 days later - also got email notifications from Toll so I knew when it was coming. I had a 9am appointment, lined up at 8.30 and was out by 9.20, everyone was very friendly.
- Rosie (about 10 months ago)

5

 E-3 Renewal
5 Days

- Fiona (about 10 months ago)

3

 E-3 Renewal
7+ Days
E3 renewal, fourth visa. Wait time was 30 days which was understandable. Consulate appointment was at 9:00 a.m. arrived at 8:45 a.m. and was seen early, left by 9:05 a.m., this was probably the hardest i have been pressed regarding my visa, the consulate officer asked for pretty much everything and then some... which i was well prepared for. What i was not prepared for was the 7 day wait to receive my visa! Overall besides the wait time and the not so friendly bloke behind the desk...7/10
- Cameron (about 9 months ago)

5

 E-3 New
4 Days
Third E-3 overall, but a new one due to change of employer. Turned up at 8:30am for a 9:00am appointment (admitted in at around 8:50am by consulate security). Interview conducted promptly and was out the door at 9:15am. Questions asked were standard; "Who are you working for? What is your role? How long have you been in roles similar to this?". Documents requested by consulate officer were DS-160, certified LCA, and letter of offer by new employer. Interview was held on Friday 6th of March. Passport with visa included received back on Wednesday 11th March. I got it shipped to Tasmania, so perhaps you could expect it even faster if you had it returned to Melbourne or Sydney. Original wait times for appointments in Melbourne were about 29 days, however cancellations did pop up frequently. I was able to reschedule the appointment to be approximately 12 days out instead. It's definitely worth checking regularly on the consulate website if you're looking to expedite the process.
- Josh (about 7 months ago)

4

 E-3 New
5 Days
Asked for letter of offer and LCA only. Still processing visas without issue due to COVID19. Just letting less people up every time.
- DC (about 7 months ago)
Shares