US Consulate Sydney NSW, Australia Reviews

Looking to get your US Visa at the US Consulate Sydney NSW, Australia?

Below you will find reviews from others who have, including turnaround times, and appointment wait times.

If you’re looking for more information about the types of visa available and other locations, visit my Immigration section and you can read everything from a step-by-step guide to the E3 visa through to introductions to the best immigration lawyers available.

If you have any questions, please don’t hesitate to comment below or email [email protected] – I love getting your questions!

If you’ve recently gone through a visa process (good or bad), I’d love to hear about it so I can help people in the future!

Sydney NSW, Australia

4.44

3.26 days

Closed

27 reviews

5

 B-1/2 New
5 Days
I got granted a B1/2 visa in Sydney in Feb no issues at all very straightforward
- Sarah (about 3 years ago)

5

 E-3 New
4 Days
I did my E3 in Sydney one and a half years ago and it was about an hour process. 59 mins to get in the door through the line and security. 1 min in the interview.
- Matthew (about 4 years ago)

5

 E-3 New
5 Days
It was a really easy turnaround
- Josh (about 4 years ago)

5

 E-3 Renewal
2 Days
Booked the first available appointment for the day - was in and out within 20 minutes.
- Lucy (about 2 years ago)

5

 E-3 New
2 Days
Interview took 2 minutes. They asked only a few questions, including what my degree was, what the name of the company was, where I would be working/living and how many interviews I had. Took about 2 minutes.
- Brendan (about 5 years ago)

5

 E-3 Renewal
4 Days
Because it was a renewal, I went to a different window than last time (also got my first E3 in Sydney). I think they asked like 2 questions. Was over in less than 2 minutes.
- Brendan (about 3 years ago)

4

 E-3 New
2 Days
There’s about 5 different lines that you have to line up in. They say not to get there too early because you can’t join the first line before your appointment time, but I would, just to be safe. I can’t stress enough not to take ANY electronics with you!
- Erin (about 2 years ago)

4

 E-3 New
2 Days
They didn’t ask to see any supporting documentation, just job title, description, previous job and degree title.
- Rosa (about 2 years ago)

5

 L-1 Renewal
2 Days
Don’t try to do it in Bermuda
- Ross (about 3 years ago)

5

 B-1/2 New
2 Days
Just a few questions why I needed a B1/B2 visa instead of ESTA. Told them I'd been to one of their travel ban countries. They asked when, how long and why I visited. No issues. Passport shipped to BNE within a couple of days.
- Julian (about 3 years ago)

5

 L-1 New
2 Days
It’s a busy place to get your visa, but that makes it much easier as they’ve got the system down pat. Security is the longest part of the process. The interviewer asked 3 questions and didn’t need the supporting documentation (except the necessary visa forms).
- Dave (about 2 years ago)

4

 J-1 New
1 Day

- (about 2 years ago)

5

 E-3 New
6 Days

- Jocelyn (about 2 years ago)

4

 J-1 New
3 Days
I think it took us longer to get through the security check than we spent upstairs in the actual consulate! Appointment was on a Tuesday and we had our passports back on Friday.
- Leah (about 2 years ago)

4

 E-3 New
3 Days
Longest process was getting the interview - 1 month wait. On the day everything ran smoothly - asked 2/3 questions and then approved - easy process and they didn’t ask for too much background evidence, just letter of offer
- Dave (about 1 year ago)

5

  New
3 Days

- Lisa (about 2 years ago)

5

 B-1/2 New
3 Days

- Vanessa (about 1 year ago)

5

 E-3 New
2 Days
Only 3 questions asked - needed my letter of employment, my education and where I’ll be living.
- Rachel (about 1 year ago)

5

 E-3 New
3 Days
We previously were in the US on a J-1 visa and returned to Australia (family reasons) to get our E3 visa. Longest wait time was to get through security. Visa interview was only three questions and only had to provide the LCA, our marriage certificate and our child’s birth Certificate. Appointment was on Tuesday and we had our passports back in Brisbane on Friday.
- Leah (about 1 year ago)

5

 E-3 New
5 Days
Three easy questions. In and out within 20min.
- Mitch (about 2 years ago)

4

 E-3 New
2 Days
This is a very busy location and lines can be long. I had 1 hour wait standing in a corridor (no seats available) just to join the security queue. Once joined the security line the rest of the process only took 30 mins. Any electronics other than a phone are not permitted so don’t bring your laptops, iPads, etc. I recommend just taking your documents if at all possible. While I was there people with infants were allowed to skip to the front of the security queue.
- Jennifer (about 1 year ago)

5

 E-3 New
1 Day
Super easy consulate! Had an appointment in the morning - went through papers check and security, then upstairs. When arriving upstairs, was separated into what seemed to be a "workers" line (vs students/tourists/others), which had no wait time. Was asked three basic questions about what I do and my new job, and was approved on the spot. Passport was returned by courier the following afternoon (was delivered even before I received the tracking number via email). Super easy, 10/10.
- Sam (about 3 years ago)

1

 E-3 New
7+ Days

- (about 6 years ago)

1

 E-3 Renewal
7+ Days
Would never go here again, went for an E3 renewal after getting my first E3 I’m Bridgetown. The selected me for a background check for no apparent reason, took 7 months for the background check to clear (and it was squeaky clean). The consulate was unresponsive and unhelpful throughout the entire process. Never again...
- Adam (about 2 years ago)

5

 E-3 New
5 Days
I scheduled my appointment without an approved LCA (just print out the certified one and bring on the day) as appointment times were filling up fast (1-2 month waiting period).
- Bianca (about 11 months ago)

4

 E-3 Renewal
2 Days

- Vanessa (about 9 months ago)

5

 E-3 New
3 Days
The stated turnaround time for passport to be approved and returned was 7 working days. I got it back in my hands in 3! I arrived at the The Sydney Consulate at 845am. It was relatively busy, but most of the waiting was at the security checkpoint. Once I am in the main interview room, it took no time at all. The interviewer asked me 2 questions across the window pane and did not require any of the paperwork I painstakingly compiled for 1 month! The guy before me, however, got all the hard questions applying for an ESTA.
- B (about 10 months ago)
Shares